Alles Klar: All is Clear

Bergen, Norway, 2011.

Bergen, Norway, 2011.

A Short Story:

Are there moments in your life when you feel so inconceivably happy, so wholly replete, that while basking in your exuberance, you simultaneously fear that your joy has reached its very zenith and that you could never be happier beyond this point, that things could only go downhill henceforth?

This was one of those moments.

In the whirlwind of magic, madness, and spontaneity, I had abandoned all reservations, all apprehensions, all conventions. You remarked at my ability to bring exhilaration into your life, and to offer you warmth that fills every hole and crevice in your being, such that my words have now become your sustenance, insofar as declaring the need to store or do away with your past memories so as to make way for only that of us.

As my heart took flight, in its empty space I found a tinge of sadness, a kind of nostalgia, a longing for what I currently have, yet fear I might lose someday. Is it strange, ironic? That in this moment, I wondered if your memories of us would ever fade, would ever one day lose their lustre, would ever have to be, likewise, nonchalantly dismissed as a mere passing phase in your life in time to come?

 A Poem:

What could it possibly be that you fear?
Could you not sense my vulnerability so sheer?
Your words, your heart, of which I hold so dear.
To you I pledge to be forever sincere.

With my life’s breath I promise to be here
with you, for you, never to disappear.
And if you might one day feel I am no longer near,
then look into the mirror, for there I will appear.

In my life I have closed chapters over the years,
collecting memories that now remain souvenirs.
But my affections for you could never be cavalier.
For you I have opened an unending book; alles klar.

– Agnes Chew

So long you remain present in my life,

you shall never become the past of mine.

One thought on “Alles Klar: All is Clear

  1. I was recommended this blog by my cousin. I
    am not sure whether this post is written by him
    as nobody else know such detailed about my trouble.
    You’re wonderful! Thanks!

    Like

Leave a Reply

